Gift Shop | Donate Now | Contact Us

Board and Staff


Since 1963, scientists at Hubbs-SeaWorld Research Institute have been dedicated to providing solutions through science. In addition to the science staff is a team of managers and administrators who play a critical role in helping to accomplish our mission: 

Corporate Officers

Donald B. Kent, M.S.  
President & CEO

Pamela K. Yochem, D.V.M., Ph.D.
Executive Vice President

Bethany Smith, M.B.A.
Chief Financial Officer

Development & Community Relations

Eileen Sigler
Development Director

Julie Carpenter Diuguid
Executive Assistant and Development Coordinator



Administrative & Technical Staff

Christine Truman
IT Manager

Nicole Karas
Human Resources Manager

Jo Ann Tepper, MSIS, B.S.B.A
Facilities Manager and Safety Officer 

Marcos Montgomery Facilities Maintenance Technician

Kerry Henderson 
Office Manager, Florida 

Laura Vega
Accounting Manager




Board of Trustees

A Board of Trustees oversees the administration of HSWRI through its corporate officers. The HSWRI Board of Trustees represents a collection of visionary leaders who have distinguished careers in a variety of scientific, corporate, and cultural endeavors. Each individual Board member brings to the Institute a vision for ocean conservation, a dedication to advance the Institute and its mission, a commitment to maintain America's leadership in science and technology, dedication to community service, and an ethical belief that ocean and coastal conservation is a social imperative to protect our natural resource assets, recreational opportunities, ocean-based economy, and quality of life on Earth.

Chairman Emeritus

Milt Shedd (deceased)

Chair Emeritus, Science Committee

Dr. Clark Hubbs (deceased)

Executive Committee

William Shedd  
President, AFTCO Manufacturing Company, Inc.; Chairman of the Board

James Atchison 
President & Chief Executive Officer, SeaWorld Parks & Entertainment; Chair, Finance Committee

Daniel B. Brown
Chief Operating Officer - SeaWorld Brands, SeaWorld Parks & Entertainment

Jan Driscoll
Partner, Allen Matkins Leck Gamble & Mallory LLP  

Harold W. Furman, II 
Chairman and Managing Director, The Furman Group, Inc.; Chair, Development Committee

J. David Gardner
Principal, Highland Partnership, Inc.; Immediate Past Chair

Todd W. Gutschow 
Co-Founder (Retired), HNC Software Inc.; Chair, Science Committee

Donald Kent 
President & CEO, Hubbs-SeaWorld Research Institute

Geri Ann Warnke,PT
Physical Therapist


Board of Trustees

Brad Andrews  
Chief Zoological Officer, SeaWorld Parks & Entertainment

K.C. Bishop, III, Ph.D.  
Senior Consultant, U.S. State and Local Relations, Public and Government Affairs, Chevron Corporation

Dan Decker
Park President - SeaWorld San Antonio, SeaWorld Parks & Entertainment

Robert C. Fletcher  
Past President, Sportfishing Association of California

Murray Hutchison  
Private Investor; Secretary, Rancho Santa Fe Foundation

Dave Lambillotte
Founder & President, IVD Research and SafePath Laboratories

Mike Morton
Chairman of the Board, The Brigantine Family of Restaurants

Terry W. Prather  
Park President - SeaWorld Orlando, Discovery Cove and Aquatica, SeaWorld Parks & Entertainment 

John T. Reilly 
Park President - SeaWorld San Diego and Aquatica San Diego, SeaWorld Parks & Entertainment

Jane Reldan, MD  
Board Certified Physician

Jerry Sansom  
Governmental Affairs Consultant, JHS Legislative Consultants

Mark Snell
Sempra Energy



Trustees Emeritus

Senator Dede Alpert

Art DeFever (deceased)

Char DeMotte

George L. Gildred

Wally Schirra (deceased)


Donald Kent, M.A.
President & Chief Executive Officer

Pamela K. Yochem, D.V.M., Ph.D.
Executive Vice President

Bethany Smith, M.B.A.
Chief Financial Officer/Secretary


Eileen Sigler
Development Director